Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby RvE » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:56 pm

Hi everyone
I was able to load the FMS software (FMS 2.0 Alpha 2.3) I recieved with my Art-Tech RC heliopter, but when I click on the desktop icon to run the program, I just get the Microsoft error message "the program has encountered a problem and must shut down". The problem details state: App name: fms.exe, Mod name: kernel32.dll. I am using the Art-Tech 4-channel radio and USB adapter cable and running Windows XP service Pack 3 on an older Dell Dimenson 3100 (4 years old?). I have the standard graphics card that came with the computer (I am not sure if it supports 3D graphics, but I was able to run Microsoft Flight Simulator X in the past).

Any suggestions on how to get the program to run? I saw the posts in the forum about the COM port problem and Graphics card problems, but I am not sure if these are my problems. Truthfully, the COM port fix looks to be a bit beyond my computer skills to fix.

I bought the helicopter for my son form Christmas, and we were keen to get some "training" using the FMS flight sim before flying the model, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks RvE
RvE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby ggunners » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:50 pm

You should run FMS 2 alpha 8.5 from the FMS site. It is the latest since 2004.

If you do not have a 9-pin serial port or a modem in your computer, then you have the eCOMport error.

Either connect a USB modem or USB to 9-pin serial adapter or try the method to create a virtual COMx port.

-- ggunners
User avatar
ggunners
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Chantilly, VA USA

Re: Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby RvE » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Thanks for the reply.

According to another post by J Galt, the ECOM Port problem does not occur with FMS 2.0 Beta 7, is that right? Wouldn't the simplest solution for the missing Port issue by to download Beta 7? Or does this version not have some important new RC simulation features?

"FMS 2.0 Beta 7 on XP does not require that some sort of serial port be defined, nor does it require that d3drm.dll be loaded in the FMS directory."

Thanks Ralph
RvE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby ggunners » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:32 am

Yes, there are a few things missing in FMS 2.7.

o A single collision point on the CG. 2.8 has multiple collision points.
o Landing gear not modeled. 2.8 models landing gear and ground handling.
o No wind simulation. 2.8 supports wind speed, gust speed and direction.
o Simple .par file. 2.8 has a very extensive .par file allowing for more accurate flying.
o Single air foil. 2.8 has any variety of airfoils for each part of the wing
o No channel mixing. 2.8 has a mixer built in.

The big plus with 2.7, is it runs stand-alone. Earlier versions will run in DOS.
Also, there was much better dihedral effect in FMS 2.7.

-- ggunners
User avatar
ggunners
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Chantilly, VA USA

Re: Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby Stephan » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Hi
Maybe you fixed your problem maybe you didn't but here is the easiest way to fix it.\
The error is because your program is missing a DLL file.
Download the dll, here is a link. http://www.dll-files.com/pop.php?dll=kernel32
then paste it in your FMS folder. "C:\program files\FMS"
that should do it. ;)
Stephan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Problems running FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.3 with Windows XP SP3

Postby CCdraw » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:49 am

ggunners wrote:You should run FMS 2 alpha 8.5 from the FMS site. It is the latest since 2004.

If you do not have a 9-pin serial port or a modem in your computer, then you have the eCOMport error.

Either connect a USB modem or USB to 9-pin serial adapter or try the method to create a virtual COMx port.

-- ggunners

Hmm. Almost started new thread for Windows 8 ECom Port error, and read and tried, and succeeded for free. Don't pay, pray, and DO NOT mess with your Registry files!

FIX WINDOWS 8 / 7 ECom Port ERROR STEP BY STEP:
1)Get free http://www.hhdsoftware.com/free-virtual-serial-ports "Free", no add-in toolbar junk or cNet-style 'bait-n-switch downloads', just good free code; works in 64 bit systems and support 32 systems both.

2)Install it without shortcuts; you only need to use it once.

3)Start the vysercfg.exe and select "Bridge", then "Create".

Mine made Com3-Com4 Bridge. It survives Shutdown/Restarts. You never have to do it again. It does not show in Windows 8 Device Manager. Next copy the d3drm.dll like always.

Do not settle for FMS v2a7! It is not "Hard to fix". It is really "Easy". Go for FMS v2b8.5 for the realistic landings, then go get Gary's PilotRC Sbach 342 53" from http://gunnerson.homestead.com/files/fms_models.htm . That and the standard Su-26 are so fun.

I wish someone would model a Zagi HP Flying Wing with those actual high-power physics. Crash-proof fun! Thank you Jesus!
CCdraw
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:52 am


Return to Windows-Version

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron