Exception EComPort in module FMS.exe

Exception EComPort in module FMS.exe

Postby sven » Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:10 am

Hi there,

what is this error about?:

Exeption EComPort in module FMS.exe at 0008AFEC.
Registry error (win error code: 2).


br, Sven
sven
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:43 pm

Postby ggunners » Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:07 am

If you search the forum you'll find several references to FMS requiring an actual COM port within the Windows registry. If your computer has all COM ports disabled, you'll see a COM port error. There's some registry entries that can be made to fake out Windows programs to see a COM port entry.

-- ggunners
User avatar
ggunners
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Chantilly, VA USA

Postby sven » Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:39 pm

sounds like a workaround, would be great if this can be fixed in FMS since modern computers often dont have com-ports
sven
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:43 pm

Postby ggunners » Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:23 am

It's a code module for which the authors do not have access. They'd have to swap out the COM port module and create their own or buy some other code. So, not too big a deal to work around to keep FMS free.

-- ggunners
User avatar
ggunners
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Chantilly, VA USA

Postby bunker » Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:26 am

I also had this problem and searched the forum using the keyword EComPort but didn't find any thread with the exact solution that worked for me som I'm posting the solution here since this thread described the problem well.

My computer does not have a physical com-port as it is a fairly new one. This means I got that same error message sven reported.

I have a USB-attached radio simulator that I bought rather cheaply at a faire so I don't need to have it attached to a COM or LPT port.

I solved it like this:

1. Open control panel (in classic mode) and choose Add new hardware.
2. Click Next, then "Yes, I've already attached the new hardware", then Next again.
3. Scroll down to the bottom, click "Add new hardware" (or something similar), then click Next.
4. "Choose manually from a list", then click Next.
5. Choose Ports (COM & LPT), click Next.
6. In the left part, choose (Standard port types), in the right part, choose Communications port. Click Next and then Next again.
7. You'll get a message saying the device is installed but may not be working. (Obviously since we really didn't add any hardware.) Click Finish.
8. Open the device manager by holding down the Windows logo key and pressing the Break button on your keyboard. Select the Hardware (or is it Devices?) tab and then click the button Device manager.
9. Scroll down to Ports (COM & LPT) and expand it. You should now see a Communications port with a yellow and black ! on it. In parenthesis it should say the number this Com-port now has in your system. For me it is (COM4).
10. Open up notepad (or your favourit text editor). And paste in the following:
Code: Select all
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\SERIALCOMM]
"\\Device\\Serial0"="COM4"


Then replace the COM4 at the end with your Com-ports number like "COM1" if it should differ.
11. Save the file as fms_com_port_fix.reg on your desktop (or wherever you like).
12. Go to your desktop and double-click the file. Approve any security warnings your system may give you.

That should be it, FMS should now start for you.

Note: I'm using a Swedish version of Win XP Pro so the names of buttons and texts above in English may not be 100% correct.

I'm happy with FMS, it works nicely for me and I've already had a few hours of flying in it and crashing thousands and thousands of Euros worth of airplanes ;-) (Yes I'm a noob at flying R/C)
Last edited by bunker on Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
bunker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:06 am

Postby Lindsay » Mon Nov 06, 2006 1:24 am

Thanks for the full problem solution. I don't need it for now as my m/c does have a real com port which I had to enable but in the future .....

I am an R/C learner, too, and have spent quite a few hours on FMS so far. The skills learned do really help when you get on the real thing. It certainly saves you from getting stressed out and the instructor doesn't need to grab control back all the time!!

Good luck.
Lindsay
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:07 am
Location: Wellington, NZ

Postby sven » Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:47 pm

What is the registry key for:
[Software\\Flying-Model-Simulator\\RcPICForm] 1162827736
"PortName"="COM1"
"Protocol"="0"

Is there any chance to disable fms needing a comport by changing something in here?

Since i would like to use fms under linux with wine, i can't use bunkers workaround.
sven
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:43 pm

Postby bunker » Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:54 pm

From what I understood from other threads the ecomm-library or whatever it's name is. Can't really be removed or disabled in FMS feasibly. Nor replaced.

Personally I think as a programmer that it's really bad to make an api dependent on a registry setting for com-ports if it's not going to use that com-port.

About the registry in Wine. I don't know that much about wine but I Googled just now and found a place describing the registry in Wine so it appears that Wine indeed DOES use a registry so you should be able to at least add the registry key.
http://www.winehq.com/site/docs/wineusr ... ng-regedit
bunker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:06 am

Postby Rydan » Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:45 pm

Bunker's fix worked a treat. :D Thanks!

My bios - or rather the sw that comes with the OEM HP motherboard did not let me "add" a COM port and the virtual COM port sw was just too tricky to understand so I'm grateful for that one. I tried several versions of FMS and this fix did them all.

(I run a HP pavillion EX500 + XP + the E-sky EI204C USB from Swedish retailer Hobbex, works great)
Rydan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:34 pm

You the man....Bunker

Postby rocketman » Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:53 pm

Bunker.....Followed your instructions and it worked great.....thanks for your time and your knowledge
rocketman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:51 pm

try but not working

Postby coupman35 » Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:13 pm

:( im try but not working, first when i connect my cable to the usb post a red light flash on and off is that ok .Idid all of the step but i dont under sand the code in the notepad nothing happens i must not be doing right.
coupman35
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:01 pm
Location: canada

Postby jimbyjoe » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:43 am

bunker wrote:I also had this problem and searched the forum using the keyword EComPort but didn't find any thread with the exact solution that worked for me som I'm posting the solution here since this thread described the problem well.

My computer does not have a physical com-port as it is a fairly new one. This means I got that same error message sven reported.

I have a USB-attached radio simulator that I bought rather cheaply at a faire so I don't need to have it attached to a COM or LPT port.

I solved it like this:
)


MATE - YOU ARE A BLOODY LEGEND!!!! THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am running XP under Parallels on my Mac.
The only problem I have now is I just have a blue screen and the noise of the plane....gotta investigate further...
thanks again
k
jimbyjoe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:39 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby luptegrow » Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:56 am

This worked perfectly!

I am running Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pak 1, and followed the directions to the letter and it worked perfectly...thanks
luptegrow
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:35 pm

Re: Exception EComPort in module FMS.exe

Postby King Of Aviators » Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:30 am

Oh my god this is hurting my head! Can somebody please break this down!? Every time a computer geek tries to help with a situation, they never include complete instructions of HOW TO GET TO THE SETTINGS! :x
King Of Aviators
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:24 am

Re: Exception EComPort in module FMS.exe

Postby King Of Aviators » Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 am

I mean, I am kinda considered one myself, but I aint that advanced in the geek squad!
King Of Aviators
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:24 am

Next

Return to Windows-Version

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests